E3 2017: Anthem

At E3 we got a surprise reveal of a new game from BioWare called Anthem

I’m very intrigued by this games, which features combats on customisable exo-suits called Javelins.

The world looks gorgeous and the combat seems like it could be a lot of fun not to mention flying around a huge open world. It does seem to be a departure from BioWare’s other games with co-operative play and no hint of a dialogue system. It’s good that the developers push the envelope, but I do hope this game sticks to BioWare core of driven, emotional storytelling.

My one gripe so far is that the game seems to echo elements from other games:

  • Destiny: It features warriors emerging from a wall that protects the remnants of humanity and obviously the focus on social play
  • Gears of War: The post-apocalyptic setting plus the feral enemies and insane weather seem very reminiscent of Sera
  • Titanfall: The Javelins, while nowhere near as big seem similar to Titans, especially in their weaponry and customisation.

Once I’d made those connections I started to struggle to see what makes this game different.

I haven’t written this game off by any means, and to be fair all we got shown was a brief side mission, but I’m waiting to see more before I can get fully excited about this new title. I have faith in BioWare that they will do so!!

Leave a Reply

