Sluggish Reaction: The Acolyte (episode 5)

The Acolyte has been a slow-build but it finally came to an explosive climax with an episode that was essentially one long lightsaber duel with some shocking moments and reveals inbetween.

Starting midway into the action with a disoriented Osha was a cool moment. Seeing her first reaction being to get Pip was cute and emotional considering what happened later.

Seeing the Sith battle the Jedi through the trees was a great way to build the tension as we slowly got close to see what was happening. I have to say I found myself rooting for the villain as he pulled off some seriuously epic moves. Sorry Kel Dor guy!

It took me a second to realise what was happening but seeing cortosis short out lightsabers in live-action was a fist-pumping moment for Expanded Universe fans!!!

Seeing Sol step in to block the thrown lightsaber was awesome! I’d predicted that it might be Qimir as the Sith but some of the dialogue threw me off and started making me think it might be another of Sol’s Padawans. Also interesting hwo his helmet seems to be able to block the force somehow, like Magneto’s helmet in X-Men.

Jecki! I know I said I wasn’t connecting with her but I didn’t want her to die!! Seeing a Padawan stand up to a Sith with such ferocity was epic and her claims of having some of the best lightsaber duels were not overstated. Seeing her pull out a second blade and go to Jar’Kai stance was so cool as she and Sol took the fight to him and it was only a dirty trick that killed her in the end.

This moment when Mae could have chosen to attack the Sith but ran away instead just showed how terrified she is of him.

Osha and Yord travelling through the Umramoths and then luring them back was a really clever scene. Poor Yord though!

Seeing yet another lightsaber variant like this lightdagger is so cool!

So the Sith turned out to be our main suspect, but it was still a satisfying reveal. I liked his dialogue about wanting to be free and fed up of hiding who he is because of the Jedi.

Seeing Sol go beserk after the death of Jecki was really moving and shocking when he came so close to ending the Sith.

The trick to take the Sith out was cool, thought I thought the sacrifice of Pip was unnecessary as she had already got him to ignite his lightsaber which would have attracted them anyway.

The interaction between Mae and Osha was…ok but it felt a bit drawn out and a weird change of pace after all the action.

The switcheroo was obvious but a fun twist. It’s a shame as the one person who understands Bazil is dead.

The ending was a bit flat for me, but I love Jacinto as the Sith and I’m really intrigued to see what happens when he reveals the truth to Osha and how the story progresses from there.

Now I need a sleep after all that!!

Leave a comment