Guardian’s Log: The Dark Beyond (Destiny gameplay recap)

At last the Moon! Every story I’d been told filled me with dread, how it was surrendered to hold off the Hive, how Guardians had ventured there only never to return. Still, it has called to me since the first night of my new life and I have a jumpship so it was only a matter of time.

Log

Another Guardian had also been drawn to the moon and had searched for a way into the Hive fortress but had gone dark so I was assigned to investigate.

Touching foot on the moon was an eerie experience. A great accelerator stood in disrepair, all around were the shattered remains of a former colony from our Golden Age.

As I followed the Guardian’s trail through the colony I was surprised to run into more Fallen, wearing the green colours of another House. The moon is fully occupied by the Hive so these Fallen are either extremely tough, insane…or both!!

The Guardian left notes pointing to the ‘Temple of Crota’ – followed their directions to a fortified entrance. At first I saw only the Guardian’s body then I turned to see I was being watched. It looked like another Guardian.

At that moment the Temple opened and the Hive came spilling out. I fought them off then ventured inside the fortress, every inch of which seemed like it was carved out of someone’s nightmare. I tracked down the Guardian’s ghost and gained intel which confirmed our worst fears.

The Hive are preparing a full scale invasion of Earth. I returned as swiftly as I could to pass on this news. I know there will be a call to return to the moon but after this mission…I am in no hurry!

Grimoire

The House of Exile

This Fallen House lives on the surface of the moon, well away from the Hive swarms beneath. Their name would suggest that they are outcasts from other houses banded together on the one place the other houses dare not go. Their ranks are mostly made up of Dregs with Captains and higher ranked Fallen a rare site, making them less of a threat.

Opinion

This mission wasn’t the most memorable but it did a good job of setting the scene for the moon, introducing the Fallen house and giving a taste of the Hive fortress.

Achievements

Decryptologist

Decrypt 25 engrams

Use of Weapons

Dismantle 50 pieces of armour or weapons

Thanks for reading!

Leave a comment