Guardian’s Log: The Shrine of Oryx (Destiny gameplay recap)

[Ok so I goofed and missed out a mission in my recap so this is out of order but anyway…]

Another call to the Moon to take down a wretched icon of the Hive. I wonder what it will take to finally rid us of these beasts.

Log

A legendary Warlock named Osiris warned of the Shrines of Oryx, a location he claimed must be destroyed if our doom is to be delayed, never mind prevented. Our recent exploration of the Hellmouth meant that we were ready to launch a strike at last.

Inside the Hive fortress I was surprised to see Fallen engaged in battle with the Hive. The Exiles normally keep to the surface but something must have happened to drive them below. At first I was content to let our enemies shoot it out with each other but I knew I had a job to do so I plunged into the fight.

This incursion gifted us a rare opportunity – a Fallen Baron had left the safety of his Skiff to lead their efforts, giving me the chance to take out a high profile target.

I’ve become more familiar with the Hellmouth than I’d ever want to be, but I still find something new when I visit. These pods seem to be used to ferry material to and from the depths of the Hive catacombs.

As I journeyed deeper, the tunnels changed – becoming more technological and less… creepy in nature.

The centre of the shrine was a vast spherical machine. My Ghost analysed it and detected a connection to a dark power beyond the solar system

We worked to sever the connection but the shrine was heavily defended by an army led by a monster. In the end we prevailed and the shrine was destroyed.

I don’t know what this mysterious power is, but I fear we will find our soon enough.

Grimoire

Frigoris, Exile Baron

The highest ranking member of the House of Exile observed. Given the rag tag nature of this House, he may have been their leader

Sardok, Eye of Oryx

Like a Knight in form but massive in stature, Sardok guards the Shrine of Oryx. Covered in pulsing green energy that blinds his opponents, he is a fearsome enemy.


Opinion

This was a fun one. I like seeing other factions fight each other! Sardok was a really cool boss too.

Leave a comment